# Zapier vs Pipedream (Nov 2026): tasks vs credits, real cost

Canonical: https://theagenticweekly.com/compare/zapier-vs-pipedream · Last verified: 2026-11-03 · Published: 2026-10-25 · Author: Agentic Weekly (operated independently from Texas, US) · Evidence: Last verified Nov 3, 2026 (America/Chicago) on Zapier pricing and Pipedream pricing. Evidence: Reported for both tools. We have not run Zapier or Pipedream; every price below is copied from the vendor's own page, and any arithmetic is labelled as ours.

Where each price comes from:

- Zapier prices: [zapier.com/pricing](https://zapier.com/pricing) · Checked Nov 3, 2026
- Pipedream prices: [pipedream.com/pricing](https://pipedream.com/pricing) · Checked Nov 1, 2026

**Our pick:** Pick Zapier for teams that need the widest app coverage; pick Pipedream for developers wiring agents to many APIs with managed auth. No overall winner: we have not benchmarked them against each other. **Updated:** 2026-11-03 (America/Chicago).

> As of Nov 3, 2026 (CT), Zapier is a no-code automation tool billed per task: Free covers 100 tasks a month and Professional starts at $19.99 a month billed annually. Pipedream is now an integration layer for developers: free in development, then Startup at $99 a month billed annually ($150 monthly) with 100 external users and 10,000 usage credits. Zapier suits your own workflows; Pipedream suits in-product integrations.

## Short answer

Zapier and Pipedream now sell different things. Zapier's pricing page sells no-code automation across 9,000+ apps (vendor claim), with Zap workflows, Agents, Chatbots, Tables, Forms and Zapier MCP. Pipedream's pricing page leads with "Free to build. Pay when your integrations go to production." and sells Connect, for developers adding connectors to their agents and apps, and Conduit, for companies deploying AI across their organization.

If you are choosing a tool to automate your own work, Zapier is the direct fit and Pipedream is not really competing for that job any more. If you are building a product that needs managed auth and prebuilt actions for thousands of APIs, Pipedream is the direct fit.

## Who each tool is for now

- **Zapier:** people and teams who build their own automations in a visual editor. The pricing page lists Zap workflows, Agents, Chatbots, Tables and Forms, plus Zapier MCP ("Add Zapier to your AI chat") and a Zapier SDK for coding agents.
- **Pipedream Connect:** developers who want their own users to connect accounts inside their product. Plans list managed auth for 3,000+ APIs, 10,000+ prebuilt tools and triggers, MCP servers and a Connect proxy.
- **Pipedream Conduit:** listed as "for companies deploying AI securely across their organization". The pricing page does not price it separately.

## Price side by side

Table: Zapier and Pipedream plans (vendor pages read Nov 3, 2026, CT)

| Tool | Built for | Billing unit | Free plan | Cheapest paid (annual / monthly) | What the paid plan includes | Overage rule | Connectors (vendor claim) | MCP | SSO |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zapier | Your own no-code workflows | Tasks | 100 tasks a month | Professional from $19.99/mo billed annually / $29.99 monthly (monthly price from our [Zapier page](https://theagenticweekly.com/tools/zapier), read Nov 2) | A task tier you pick; Team from $69/mo billed annually adds 25 users, shared Zaps and SAML SSO | Switches to pay-per-task billing when you hit your plan's task limit | 9,000+ apps | Zapier MCP (task cost not stated on the pricing page read Nov 3) | SAML SSO from Team |
| Pipedream | Integrations inside your own app or agent | External users and usage credits | $0, every feature in development only | Startup $99/mo billed annually / $150 monthly | Production use, 100 external users and 10,000 usage credits a month, email support | $2 per extra external user a month; $0.012 per extra credit | 3,000+ APIs, 10,000+ prebuilt tools and triggers | MCP servers included on every plan | Business plan only (custom contract) |

Zapier's page also offers "Pay yearly (Save 33%)" and an Enterprise plan on request. For Zapier's full task-tier table, see [Zapier pricing on our tool page](https://theagenticweekly.com/tools/zapier) rather than a copy here. Pipedream's Business plan is a custom annual contract. Sources: [Zapier pricing](https://zapier.com/pricing), [Pipedream pricing](https://pipedream.com/pricing), both read Nov 3, 2026.

## What you pay for: tasks vs external users and credits

Zapier counts tasks: each successful action step a Zap runs. The pricing page says it emails you as you near your plan's task limit and then switches you to pay-per-task billing. Higher task tiers cost more; pick the tier on the pricing page.

Pipedream counts two things on Startup. External users are the end users who connect accounts in your product (100 included, then $2 each a month). Usage credits are compute: running an action, calling a tool through MCP, sending a request through the Connect proxy or emitting an event from a deployed trigger each use 1 credit per 30 seconds of compute. Listing apps and accounts, configuring components and other management calls use no credits.

## Worked cost example (our arithmetic)

Take a product on Pipedream Startup, billed annually, with 150 external users and 20,000 usage credits in a month. Using the prices on Pipedream's page: $99 base + 50 extra users × $2 = $100 + 10,000 extra credits × $0.012 = $120, so **$319 for that month**. This is our arithmetic from the published rates, not a quote.

We do not put a Zapier figure beside it: Zapier bills tasks, not external users or compute time, so the same workload has no like-for-like Zapier price. Zapier's cost depends on the task tier you choose on its pricing page.

## MCP and AI agents on each

Both vendors sell MCP access. Zapier lists Zapier MCP to add Zapier actions to an AI chat, and a Zapier SDK for coding agents; the pricing page we read on Nov 3 did not state how many tasks an MCP call uses, so we do not repeat a figure. Pipedream includes MCP servers on Free, Startup and Business, and an MCP tool call uses 1 credit per 30 seconds of compute. New to MCP? See [what the Model Context Protocol is](https://theagenticweekly.com/what-is/model-context-protocol).

## Security and compliance by plan

- **Zapier:** SAML SSO is a listed Team feature. The admin table also lists two-factor authentication, static IP, audit log, SCIM user provisioning and domain capture; check that table for which plan includes each, since we did not read the per-plan cells reliably.
- **Pipedream:** GDPR is listed on every plan. SSO, SCIM, HIPAA and dedicated static egress IPs are Business only, with SLAs and dedicated Slack support.

## Which to pick when

- **Pick Zapier if** you want to automate your own team's work across many SaaS apps without writing code.
- **Pick Pipedream if** you are building a product or agent whose users connect their own accounts, and you want managed auth and prebuilt actions instead of writing each integration.
- **Pick Pipedream Business if** you need SSO, SCIM or HIPAA: they are not on Free or Startup.
- **Pick Zapier Team if** you need SAML SSO for an internal automation team at a published price ($69/mo billed annually to start).

## Other options

If neither fits, compare [n8n](https://theagenticweekly.com/tools/n8n) (see [n8n alternatives](https://theagenticweekly.com/alternatives/n8n)), [Activepieces](https://theagenticweekly.com/tools/activepieces) and [Make](https://theagenticweekly.com/what-is/make), or read [Zapier alternatives](https://theagenticweekly.com/alternatives/zapier) and [best no-code automation tools](https://theagenticweekly.com/best/no-code-automation). We have not added new prices for them here.

## FAQ

### Is Pipedream cheaper than Zapier?

It depends on what you build. Pipedream is free in development and Startup is $99 a month billed annually for production, with 100 external users and 10,000 credits. Zapier's paid plans start at $19.99 a month billed annually for your own workflows. They bill different units, so compare them on your own workload.

### Is Pipedream still a Zapier alternative?

For developers, partly. Pipedream's pricing page now positions it as an integration layer for apps and agents (Connect) and for company-wide AI (Conduit), not as a no-code tool for automating your own work.

### Do Zapier and Pipedream support MCP?

Yes. Zapier sells Zapier MCP; Pipedream includes MCP servers on every plan, billed at 1 credit per 30 seconds of compute per tool call.

### Have you tested Zapier or Pipedream?

No. Both are Reported: we read each vendor's pricing page on Nov 3, 2026 (America/Chicago) and have not run either.

## Sources

- [Zapier pricing](https://zapier.com/pricing) (fetched 2026-11-03)
- [Pipedream pricing](https://pipedream.com/pricing) (fetched 2026-11-03)
- [Zapier pricing details on our Zapier page](https://theagenticweekly.com/tools/zapier) (fetched 2026-11-02)

## Related

- [Zapier: pricing and verdict](https://theagenticweekly.com/tools/zapier)
- [Zapier alternatives](https://theagenticweekly.com/alternatives/zapier)
- [Best no-code automation tools](https://theagenticweekly.com/best/no-code-automation)
- [n8n](https://theagenticweekly.com/tools/n8n)
- [Activepieces](https://theagenticweekly.com/tools/activepieces)
- [What is MCP?](https://theagenticweekly.com/what-is/model-context-protocol)

## Changelog

- 2026-10-25: First published. Facts read from vendor pages and the GitHub API on 2026-10-25.
- 2026-11-03: Rewritten in place: answer first, a dated comparison table and sources, with every price re-read on the vendor pages on Nov 3, 2026 (America/Chicago). The page was noindexed before this rewrite.

## How to cite

Agentic Weekly, "Zapier vs Pipedream (Nov 2026): tasks vs credits, real cost", last updated 2026-11-03, https://theagenticweekly.com/compare/zapier-vs-pipedream
