# Claude Max 20x becomes Ultra at $200, with no five-hour limit for verified accounts

Canonical: https://theagenticweekly.com/news/claude-max-ultra-plan-rename-five-hour-limit · Evidence: Reported · First seen: 2026-10-31 05:49 UTC · Source published: not stated by the source · Brief published: 2026-11-01 00:02 UTC · Updated: 2026-11-01 00:02 UTC · Author: Agentic Weekly

> Anthropic's help center says "The Max 20x plan is now called the Ultra plan", at $200 a month, and verified Ultra accounts have no five-hour limit. Max is $100 a month with 5x Pro usage every 5 hours and every week; Ultra keeps a weekly limit of 10x Pro (as of Oct 30, 2026).

## What changed

- Anthropic's help center says the Max 20x plan is now called Ultra and that existing Max 20x subscribers move to Ultra automatically, with no price change. Ultra costs $200 a month on the web.
- The pricing page now lists Free, Pro, Max and Ultra. Max is $100 a month with 5x Pro usage every 5 hours and every week; there is no separate Max 5x tier.
- Verified Ultra accounts have no five-hour limit. Unverified accounts get a temporary limit that Anthropic removes automatically, based on account and payment history. No Current session bar in Settings > Usage means you are verified.
- Ultra still has a weekly limit of 10x Pro usage across all models, plus a separate weekly limit for Fable, and Anthropic says it may add other limits to manage capacity.
- The pricing page lists monthly API credits of $100 on Max and $200 on Ultra, and Fable on both plans for up to half the weekly limit.
- Claude Code is included in all paid plans and shares the plan's limits, so Ultra's change also applies to long Claude Code sessions.

## In the source's words

> "The Max 20x plan is now called the Ultra plan."
> (Claude Help Center: What is the Ultra plan?, https://support.claude.com/en/articles/17728952-what-is-the-ultra-plan)

> "Verified Ultra accounts don't have a five-hour limit."
> (Claude Help Center: What is the Ultra plan?, https://support.claude.com/en/articles/17728952-what-is-the-ultra-plan)

> "Claude Code is included in all paid plans."
> (Claude pricing page FAQ, https://claude.com/pricing)

## Early verdict

If you hit Claude Code's five-hour cap on the $200 plan, Ultra removes it once your account is verified; the weekly cap still sets the ceiling. (Basis: Based only on Anthropic's help center and pricing page as read on Oct 31, 2026; we have not used an Ultra account.)

## What we have not verified

- We do not have an Ultra account and did not check the verification flow or session behaviour ourselves.
- Press reports say Anthropic announced the change on X on October 30 and that weekly limits are unchanged; the help-center pages we read do not compare the old and new weekly allowance.
- Mobile app prices may differ from the web prices quoted here, per Anthropic.

## Timeline

- Source published: not stated by the source
- First seen by our watcher: 2026-10-31 05:49 UTC (via The New Stack (press signal))
- Brief published: 2026-11-01 00:02 UTC

## Sources

- [Claude Help Center: What is the Ultra plan?](https://support.claude.com/en/articles/17728952-what-is-the-ultra-plan) (primary source) (fetched 2026-10-31)
- [Claude pricing](https://claude.com/pricing) (primary source) (fetched 2026-10-31)
- [Claude Help Center: What is the Max plan?](https://support.claude.com/en/articles/11049741-what-is-the-max-plan) (primary source) (fetched 2026-10-31)

## Related

- [Claude Code pricing: plans, limits and real costs](https://theagenticweekly.com/what-is/claude-code-pricing)
- [Claude Code: verdict and setup guide](https://theagenticweekly.com/tools/claude-code)
- [Claude: verdict and setup guide](https://theagenticweekly.com/tools/claude)
- [Claude Code vs Codex CLI](https://theagenticweekly.com/compare/claude-code-vs-codex-cli)
- [Claude Code vs Cursor](https://theagenticweekly.com/compare/claude-code-vs-cursor)
- [Claude Code vs Gemini CLI](https://theagenticweekly.com/compare/claude-code-vs-gemini-cli)
- [Alternatives to Claude Code](https://theagenticweekly.com/alternatives/claude-code)
- [All news briefs](https://theagenticweekly.com/news)
- [This week's releases](https://theagenticweekly.com/this-week)
- [New AI models this week](https://theagenticweekly.com/models/this-week)

## How to cite

Agentic Weekly, "Claude Max 20x becomes Ultra at $200, with no five-hour limit for verified accounts", published 2026-11-01 00:02 UTC, https://theagenticweekly.com/news/claude-max-ultra-plan-rename-five-hour-limit
