# LongCat-2.5: a 1.6T-parameter multimodal agent model, live on the LongCat API at $0.30/$1.20

Canonical: https://theagenticweekly.com/news/longcat-2-5-native-multimodal-agentic-model · Evidence: Reported · First seen: 2026-11-02 15:59 UTC · Source published: not stated by the source · Brief published: 2026-11-02 16:09 UTC · Updated: 2026-11-02 16:09 UTC · Author: Agentic Weekly

> LongCat-2.5 is a native multimodal model for long-horizon agent work; its announcement says it has 1.6 trillion total parameters with about 48 billion active per token. The LongCat API change log lists it as available on 2026-11-02, with a 1M-token context and limited-time pricing of $0.30 input and $1.20 output per 1M tokens.

Models in this brief: [LongCat-2.5](https://theagenticweekly.com/models/longcat-2-5)

## What changed

- The announcement describes LongCat-2.5 as a native multimodal model with 1.6 trillion total parameters and about 48 billion activated per token, building on LongCat-2.0.
- Images are turned into discrete visual tokens so one backbone handles image and text input; the team pitches this at visual coding, creative design and 3D tasks.
- The API docs give LongCat-2.5 a 1M-token context window and a 128K-token maximum output, through both OpenAI-format and Anthropic-format endpoints.
- Pay-as-you-go pricing is listed as a limited-time discount: $0.30 uncached input, $0.006 cached input and $1.20 output per 1M tokens.
- In the vendor's own table, LongCat-2.5 scores 88.4 on Terminal Bench v2.1 (LongCat-2.0: 70.8) and 91.9 on BrowseComp; competitor figures there are partly self-run.
- The team reports 4-bit (W4A4) inference raised prefill throughput 43.3% and decode throughput 42.77% versus its INT8 baseline in online stress tests.

## In the source's words

> "LongCat-2.5: 1M token context window with a maximum output length of 128K tokens"
> (LongCat API Platform quick start docs, https://longcat.chat/platform/docs/)

> "Compatible with Claude Code, Codex, Hermes, and other agent harnesses, with flexible integration into your development tools and workflows."
> (LongCat API Platform change log, version 2026-11-02, https://longcat.chat/platform/docs/change-log)

> "Pay-As-You-Go currently supports LongCat-2.5."
> (LongCat API Platform pricing page, https://longcat.chat/platform/docs/pricing/longcat-2.5)

## What we have not verified

- We did not run this release ourselves.
- All benchmark scores are the vendor's own; the announcement says scores without an asterisk for other models were self-run and are indicative only.
- The announcement page is rendered by JavaScript, so its figures were read in a rendered copy and are not checked by our automated quote checker; the quotes above come from the static API docs.
- We found no open weights for LongCat-2.5 on the team's Hugging Face organisation at publication time, and the announcement we read does not say whether weights will be released.
- The pricing page calls the prices a limited-time discount and does not give an end date or the regular price.
- The change log and announcement give dates only, not a time of day, so the source publish time is left blank.

## Timeline

- Source published: not stated by the source
- First seen by our watcher: 2026-11-02 15:59 UTC (via Hacker News front page (AI posts))
- Brief published: 2026-11-02 16:09 UTC

## Sources

- [LongCat blog: Introducing LongCat-2.5](https://longcat.ai/blog/longcat-2.5/) (primary source) (fetched 2026-11-02)
- [LongCat API Platform change log](https://longcat.chat/platform/docs/change-log) (primary source) (fetched 2026-11-02)
- [LongCat API Platform quick start docs](https://longcat.chat/platform/docs/) (primary source) (fetched 2026-11-02)
- [LongCat API Platform pricing: LongCat-2.5](https://longcat.chat/platform/docs/pricing/longcat-2.5) (primary source) (fetched 2026-11-02)

## Related

- [LongCat-2.5: specs, price and alternatives](https://theagenticweekly.com/models/longcat-2-5)
- [All news briefs](https://theagenticweekly.com/news)
- [This week's releases](https://theagenticweekly.com/this-week)
- [New AI models this week](https://theagenticweekly.com/models/this-week)
- [AI model releases by month](https://theagenticweekly.com/models/releases)
- [Best LLM for coding](https://theagenticweekly.com/best/llm-for-coding)

## How to cite

Agentic Weekly, "LongCat-2.5: a 1.6T-parameter multimodal agent model, live on the LongCat API at $0.30/$1.20", published 2026-11-02 16:09 UTC, https://theagenticweekly.com/news/longcat-2-5-native-multimodal-agentic-model
