Figma MCP server: how to enable it
Figma's MCP server gives AI agents design context from Figma files, and the remote server can also write to the canvas. Figma's Help Center says it is available on Starter, Professional, Education, Organization, Government and Enterprise plans. We have not run it; this guide is Reported from Figma's documentation, read 2026-10-26.
Checked by Agentic Weekly's editorial process: vendor docs re-read.
Last verified: 2026-10-26 (America/Chicago) · Versions covered: Figma's documentation as read on 2026-10-26; the server has no version string we recorded · Evidence: Reported (see “What we tested”)
What the Figma MCP server does
Figma's Help Center guide (read 2026-10-26) says the Figma MCP server brings Figma into your AI workflow. It gives agents the design context they need to generate code from your Figma files, and lets agents write native Figma content back to the canvas. It uses the Model Context Protocol; see What is an MCP server? for the basics.
The guide lists what you can do: generate code from selected frames, extract variables, components and layout data, retrieve FigJam and Make resources, keep generated code consistent with Code Connect, and read or update Figma Specs. It says writing to the canvas needs the remote server and a Full seat to write outside your drafts, that this is free during the beta period, and that it will eventually become a usage-based paid feature. Figma Specs is described as an open beta.
We have not run any of this. Everything below is Figma's own description.
Get the weekly brief: which AI tools to update, try or skip. Free.
Free. Unsubscribe anytime. No spam. We email a confirmation link first. Privacy
Who can use it
| Item | What Figma states | Source and date |
|---|---|---|
| Plans | Starter, Professional, Education, Organization, Government and Enterprise plans | Figma Help Center guide, read 2026-10-26 |
| Client requirement | An MCP client listed in the Figma MCP catalog; the developer docs name VS Code, Cursor and Claude Code as examples | Figma Help Center guide, read 2026-10-26 and Figma developer docs, read 2026-10-26 |
| Remote server seat | Not stated in the Help Center guide beyond the Full seat needed to write outside your drafts | Figma Help Center guide, read 2026-10-26 |
| Desktop server seat | A Dev or Full seat on a Professional, Education, Organization, Government or Enterprise plan | Figma Help Center guide, read 2026-10-26 |
| Usage and rate limits | Not copied here; Figma points to its Plans, access, and permissions page | Figma Help Center guide, read 2026-10-26 |
| Price | Not stated on this page. Write access is free during the beta and expected to become usage-based, per Figma | Figma Help Center guide, read 2026-10-26 |
Seat and limit details change; check Figma's pages before you rely on them.
Remote or desktop server
| Attribute | Remote server | Desktop server |
|---|---|---|
| Where it runs | Figma's hosted endpoint, https://mcp.figma.com/mcp, without the Figma desktop app | Locally, through the Figma desktop app |
| Figma's recommendation | Recommended; Figma says it offers the broadest set of features and is the choice Figma suggests for most users | Intended for specific organization and enterprise needs |
| Authentication | You sign in with your Figma account the first time you connect (developer docs) | Not verified |
| Write to canvas | Yes, remote only, per the guide | Not available, per the guide's client table heading "Write to canvas (remote only)" |
| Figma for Government | Not supported; Government supports the desktop server only | Supported |
Source: Figma Help Center guide, read 2026-10-26. For desktop setup, follow Figma's own desktop installation page; we did not copy it.
Connect Claude Code
Figma's developer docs (read 2026-10-26) recommend installing the Figma plugin in Claude Code because it includes the server settings and Figma's skills. If plugins are blocked by your organization, they give a manual route.
claude plugin install figma@claude-plugins-officialclaude mcp add --transport http figma https://mcp.figma.com/mcp
# all projects instead of only this one:
claude mcp add --scope user --transport http figma https://mcp.figma.com/mcpAfter adding the server manually, the docs say to start a new Claude Code session, type /mcp, select figma, choose Authenticate, click Allow access in the browser page that opens, and then confirm with /mcp again; you should see "Authentication successful. Connected to figma". For what claude mcp add and its flags do, see Add an MCP server to Claude Code.
For other clients, the docs say to add an MCP server using the HTTP transport and the URL https://mcp.figma.com/mcp, then sign in to Figma when prompted. Evidence: Reported.
Source: Figma developer docs, read 2026-10-26.
Limits and cautions
- Only clients in Figma's catalog can connect, per Figma (read 2026-10-26). A developer who wants a new client supported is told to join a waitlist.
- Writing to the canvas and "code to canvas" are described as continuously improving, and the generate-from-live-UI feature is supported by select clients.
- Skills are optional extras that help agents use the write tools; Figma says they do not add new capabilities.
- We cannot say how well it works, how fast it is or what any plan limit is, because we have not run it.
What we tested
Evidence: Reported (not run by us). We have not run the Figma MCP server for this guide.
- What we ran: nothing. We did not create a Figma account or authenticate, and we did not call any tool.
- Reported, from Figma's Help Center and developer docs, read 2026-10-26: plans, seats, the two server modes, the Claude Code commands and the sign-in steps.
- Not tested: the plugin install, the manual command, OAuth sign-in, any read or write tool, rate limits, seat enforcement, the desktop server and any client other than as listed by Figma.
| Section | Evidence | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Plans and seats | Reported | Figma Help Center guide, read 2026-10-26 |
| Remote or desktop | Reported | Figma Help Center guide, read 2026-10-26 |
| Claude Code setup | Reported | Figma developer docs, read 2026-10-26 |
Related tools
- Figma MCP server: Figma's own MCP server that gives coding agents access to design files. Reported (not run by us).
FAQ
What is the Figma MCP server?
It is Figma's MCP server. Per Figma's Help Center, it gives AI agents design context to generate code from Figma files, and the remote server lets agents write native content to the canvas. We have not run it; this is Reported, read 2026-10-26.
Is the Figma MCP server free?
Figma lists the Starter plan among the plans that include it, and says canvas writing is free during the beta and will become usage-based. We did not capture rate limits or seat rules. Check Figma's pricing and permissions pages.
How do I connect Claude Code to Figma?
Figma's developer docs give claude plugin install figma@claude-plugins-official, or claude mcp add --transport http figma https://mcp.figma.com/mcp, then /mcp to authenticate in a browser. We have not run these commands, so treat them as documented rather than verified.
Does the Figma MCP server need the desktop app?
No for the remote server, per Figma: it connects to https://mcp.figma.com/mcp without the desktop app. The desktop server runs through the Figma desktop app and needs a Dev or Full seat. We have not run either.
Have you tested the Figma MCP server?
No. We have not run the Figma MCP server. Everything here is from Figma's Help Center guide and developer docs, read 2026-10-26, and we make no claim about how it behaves.
Sources
- Guide to the Figma MCP server (Figma Help Center) (fetched 2026-10-26)
- Set up the remote server (Figma developer docs) (fetched 2026-10-26)
Related
Page history
- : First published. Figma's Help Center guide and developer docs read on this date; nothing was run.
Markdown version for agents: /guides/figma-mcp-server.md
Free · weekly · about six minutes
Get The Weekly Verdict, free
What shipped this week, what is worth switching to, and what to ignore. We run what we can and label what we only read.
- One email a week. Each release gets one call: update now, worth a look, or skip.
- Every claim shows its evidence. Reported means we read the sources; Tested means we ran it, with the exact scope and the failures left in.
- A free AI Tools Cheat Sheet (web page and printable PDF) lands in your inbox when you confirm.
Free. Unsubscribe anytime. No spam. We email a confirmation link first and add you only after you click it. We use your email only to send this newsletter and never sell it. Privacy