DeepSeekReported

DeepSeek: what’s new and our verdict

Model API that works with the OpenAI and Anthropic SDK formats and can back agent tools such as Claude Code, GitHub Copilot and OpenCode.

Official site

Release Ruler for DeepSeek: marked at its Reported release date on the timeline of every AI model we track.

At a glance

Evidence
Reported
First covered
Oct 25, 2026
Last verified
Oct 25, 2026
Pricing
Not verified
Best for
local LLM tools and model platforms

Evidence and ranking

Evidence behind this verdict

  1. Sources read1 cited source, latest fetched Oct 25, 2026. (done)
  2. Facts re-checkedLast verified Oct 25, 2026. (done)
  3. Not run by us yetWe have not run it, so this is labelled Reported. (not done)

Where we rank it (editorial)

Listed here but not yet ranked. Ranks are editorial picks, not benchmark scores.

Pricing: The docs page we read did not include the pricing table. (checked 2026-10-25)

Our verdict

Model API that works with the OpenAI and Anthropic SDK formats and can back agent tools such as Claude Code, GitHub Copilot and OpenCode.

Good for

  • Developers who want an OpenAI-compatible endpoint
  • People wiring a cheaper backend into agent tools

Skip if

  • You need published prices in this page (not captured)
  • You need a first-party consumer app review (not covered here)

Status: Reported. This write-up is based on official release notes and docs; we have not run this release ourselves yet.

Best for

Key facts

DeepSeek's API docs say the API format is compatible with OpenAI and Anthropic, with base URLs api.deepseek.com and api.deepseek.com/anthropic, and list the models deepseek-flash and deepseek-v4-pro. They say Claude Code, GitHub Copilot and OpenCode can use DeepSeek as the backend model, and that DeepSeek Harness is in developer preview. The pricing table did not render in the page text we could read.

  • License: Not read (check each model's license)
  • Platforms: API
  • Pricing model: Pay as you go (API)
  • Free tier: Not stated on the page we read
  • Paid plans: Per-token API pricing exists but did not render in our capture; check the official pricing page
  • How to start: Request an API key from DeepSeek, then point an OpenAI-compatible SDK at https://api.deepseek.com with model deepseek-flash.
  • Catalog entry: facts read from the vendor's pages on 2026-10-25. We do not track release notes for this entry.

How to set it up: Get started with DeepSeek

These steps come from the vendor's own pages as read on 2026-10-25. We have not run DeepSeek.

  1. Get access

    Request an API key from DeepSeek, then point an OpenAI-compatible SDK at https://api.deepseek.com with model deepseek-flash.

  2. Check the limits and costs first

    Not stated on the page we read. Paid: Per-token API pricing exists but did not render in our capture; check the official pricing page. The docs page we read did not include the pricing table.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Works through OpenAI and Anthropic SDKs
  • Documented agent-tool integrations

Cons

  • Pricing not captured
  • License terms not read

Alternatives and comparisons

  • OpenRouter: Unified API to many models with fallbacks; a Free tier with 25+ free models and 4 free providers.
  • Together AI: AI cloud for open models: serverless inference, fine-tuning and GPU clusters, priced per token.
  • Ollama: The common way to run open models locally on macOS, Windows and Linux, with a cloud option and an MIT-licensed open-source core.
  • Cohere: Enterprise AI company: Command models, Rerank and the North platform.

DeepSeek models we track

All models · Releases by month

FAQ

What is DeepSeek?

DeepSeek's API docs say the API format is compatible with OpenAI and Anthropic, with base URLs api.deepseek.com and api.deepseek.com/anthropic, and list the models deepseek-flash and deepseek-v4-pro. They say Claude Code, GitHub Copilot and OpenCode can use DeepSeek as the backend model, and that DeepSeek Harness is in developer preview. The pricing table did not render in the page text we could read.

Is DeepSeek free?

Not stated on the page we read. Paid: Per-token API pricing exists but did not render in our capture; check the official pricing page. The docs page we read did not include the pricing table. Checked 2026-10-25; prices change, so confirm on the vendor's page.

What license is DeepSeek under?

Its license: Not read (check each model's license). Read from the project's own pages on 2026-10-25.

What we have not verified

  • Release date (none published on the pages we read; the date shown is the day we first covered this entry)
  • Prices
  • Model licenses
  • Model quality (not tested)

Sources

Last verified · Agentic Weekly

  • Cohere: Enterprise AI company: Command models, Rerank and the North platform.
  • Hugging Face: The hub where the ML community shares models, datasets and apps, with PRO, Team and Enterprise tiers.
  • LiteLLM: Useful as a single interface in front of local and hosted models; check the license files and pin the version because it releases daily.

How to cite this page

Agentic Weekly, "DeepSeek: what's new, verdict & setup", last updated 2026-10-25, https://theagenticweekly.com/tools/deepseek

Keep the Reported or Tested label when you quote a verdict. Plain-text version: https://theagenticweekly.com/tools/deepseek.md. More for AI assistants: /ai, /tools.json, /llms.txt.